Client Testimonials

Writer's Relief: Helping writers reach literary agents and editors (a testimonial)
Clients Talk About Writer's Relief

2010-2011


Our author's submission service assists writers of poems, short stories, essays, and book manuscripts in getting their work published. We work very hard to promote our clients' work. Letters from clients follow below. (Originals with signatures available upon request.)

April 28, 2011

Dear Ronnie,

After a year and a half of bimonthly submissions and scores of rejection letters, I finally received an acceptance for one of my essays two months ago. Since then, two more works have been accepted. In addition, two short pieces of mine have appeared in an anthology that I learned about from your listings. Without Writers Relief, I would still be writing, but my work would be lodged in my computer read only by my family and my writing group. Thank you for giving me a systematic way to submit to the vast array of journals I had never heard of. Most of all, thank you for enabling me to feel the success of publication!

Sincerely,

B.J. Yudelson





April 28, 2011

I’ve had several publications, thanks to Writer's Relief. I have no time for researching magazines either, and their editing is fine, thorough, and prompt. Yes, we do pay for the service, but it’s worth it, because we can then present a professional piece of work to an editor, free of typos or spelling mistakes, faulty punctuation, etc. We are all free to try publishing without help. It’s a very slow process, frustrating more than rewarding. Our good writing friends can help with suggestions, but the perfect manuscript is not produced by friends, however good they may be. It’s not their job to make our work perfect… If in doubt, give it a try to see how it works. I, for one, do not regret having joined Writer’s Relief.

Antoinette C.





April 28, 2011

I’ve had several publications, thanks to Writer's Relief. I have no time for researching magazines either, and their editing is fine, thorough, and prompt. Yes, we do pay for the service, but it’s worth it, because we can then present a professional piece of work to an editor, free of typos or spelling mistakes, faulty punctuation, etc. We are all free to try publishing without help. It’s a very slow process, frustrating more than rewarding. Our good writing friends can help with suggestions, but the perfect manuscript is not produced by friends, however good they may be. It’s not their job to make our work perfect… If in doubt, give it a try to see how it works. I, for one, do not regret having joined Writer’s Relief.

Antoinette C.





March 20, 2011

During the two years I’ve been with [Writer's Relief], they have, so far, found an agent for my novel From Every Bitter Thing and have found literary journals to publish all the stories I’ve written during this time—a success rate I hadn’t come close to matching when I was handling my own submissions.

Most importantly, they give me time to write. Writer’s Relief is a good name for these people—knowing they’re in my corner is an immense relief. They know what they’re doing. They’re professional. I recommend them highly.

Robert Rice





March 15, 2011

Several years ago, a writer friend of mine urged me to contact Writer’s Relief. I drug my feet for a while. But once I made the decision to try working with them, I understood his enthusiasm. It has been a pleasure to work with professionals and a good learning experience too. And such a joy to have my work accepted by various journals, both online journals and traditional journals. Tawana and Kriste, my submission strategists, have been most patient and wise, and I’m looking forward to continuing my association with Writer’s Relief.

Carol B.





March 14, 2011

Hi Ronnie,

I'm so pleased with the level of professionalism at Writer's Relief. The staff is organized, consistent, and thorough. Tawana is just the sweetest and sharpest submission strategist. I am lucky to have her. Writer's Relief is one of the best parts of being a writer because they help you get published!

Sincerely,

Tamara A.





February 28, 2011

I found Writer’s Relief to be invaluable. In fact, it’s one of the greatest tools I’ve discovered in my decades of writing. I may be an unrelenting writer, but I’ve always been a tepid marketer. Writer’s Relief has forced me to become as disciplined at marketing as I am at writing. Twenty-five publications later, my short story career is flourishing. And I’m excited to send out my recently completed novel, The Protection of Salt, with Writer’s Relief’s clear eye for placement and unfailing advocacy.

My friends at Writer’s Relief are not simply my proofreaders (although we’ve had lovely discussions about comma use). From time to time, I’ll timidly ask: “What did you think?” When the response is “Wow,” or even, “We don’t like the title,” I know I’ve found more than a marketing service. Writer’s Relief takes real pride in my success.

Phyllis Carol Agins





February 7, 2011

For me, Writer’s Relief is a crucial part of the writing process—the creative process. Trying to publish requires making myself terribly vulnerable, but it also touches on my deepest intentionality because the moment I contact Writer’s Relief with a new piece of work—that’s the moment the individual solitary act of writing based on my own inner necessity becomes a shared communal object of offering based on a desire to connect with others.

Wally Levis





January 24, 2011

Olaf_Kroneman

Without Writer's Relief, none of this would be possible. I lack the skills of proofreading, spelling, grammar, and word processing. I don't type well. Writer's Relief understands the markets and how to assess them in an efficient and comprehensive manner. The drudgery is removed. I have been with Writer's Relief for four years and plan to be a lifer.
They are as advertised and more.

—Olaf Kroneman

Get to know Featured Client (and Pushcart Prize nominee) Olaf Kroneman.



January 17, 2011

Your service, during my two separate stints as client, has been invaluable.

All best wishes,

Charles W.





January 13, 2011

What if you submitted your novel via Writer’s Relief (as I did) and got two offers of representation from respected NY literary agencies?

What if you signed a contract with one of them? What if you developed a terrific relationship and worked with your agent on polishing for submission to publishers? You would be smiling. (I am.)

Joanne W.





January 4, 2011

Thank you for the recurring deadline―which is, for me, the most important service―deadlines DO keep us sending stuff out.

Thanks to all of you again,

Terry





November 4, 2010

Thanks to Writer’s Relief for the guidance, journal targeting, and labels you provided. And how nice to have an acceptance in the first batch of poems mailed out! I especially appreciated the quick personal responses when I had questions. Keep up the good work… We writers need all the help we can get!

Nancy N.





October 7, 2010

Ronnie,

Yesterday I was telling my husband how glad I am to be with you guys—because of you, I'm being published. And I decided to let you know how much I appreciate your professionalism and friendliness. My submission strategist is a sweetheart.

Shirley S.





September 27, 2010

Hi Ronnie,

For years, I spent my time writing instead of sending out work. Writer’s Relief made it possible for me to do both. Thanks to you and your staff, my first piece has been accepted for publication.

Best,

Liara M.





September 25, 2010

Ronnie,

Writer’s Relief has gotten one of my stories published, and I am in contention to have a couple of other stories published as well. The publishers have all been either unknown to me, and in one case, the “maybe” was from a magazine it wouldn’t have dawned on me to query. Even though I have received numerous rejections, many have encouraged me to send other works to them.

Thanks for your help,

Bert H.





September 22, 2010

Ronnie,

I’ve had five acceptances through you and couldn’t be happier!

Margaret H.





September 22, 2010

Ronnie,

Writer’s Relief has been invaluable in my submission process. I believe their assistance in targeting the “right” journals has hastened the publication of several of my poems. The staff is always professional, responsive, and a pleasure to deal with. Thank you, Writer’s Relief, for your part in helping to make pursuing my passion a much easier highway to navigate.

Karol W.





September 21, 2010

Dear Ronnie,

Writer’s Relief has far exceeded my expectations (and hopes!). After just a few months of your assistance, two of my short stories were accepted for publication. One of those stories was even requested by two different magazines! I know I would never have found the time to research and approach appropriate and well-regarded literary outlets. Writer’s Relief made that possible for me. The staff members are superb—knowledgeable, eager to help, and professional. It has been a pleasure working with all of you, and I plan to continue!

Best,

Julie D.





September 17, 2010

Dear Ronnie and everyone at Writer’s Relief,

Thank you for your help. You have professionally formatted my work in such a manner that my first piece has been accepted for publication. This has profoundly changed the way my wife now looks at me. I would recommend your services to every writer who had not yet memorized the Chicago Manual of Style. Who has?

Ralph G.





September 17, 2010

Ronnie:

Thank you, Writer’s Relief. In my second round of submissions, I had acceptance for one of my short stories to appear in the Spring 2011 issue of RiverSedge, a University of Texas literary journal. Exposure through Writer’s Relief is introducing my work to new publications and new opportunities. Even though some magazines or journals may not have accepted a submission, they have put me on their mailing lists for contests announcements and chances to submit other pieces of work.

The team at Writer’s Relief has been professional, courteous, and fun to work with. They are flexible with my personal schedule and do quick turnarounds for my draft reviews and submissions lists.

Rochelle W.





August 18, 2010

Ronnie,

Thanks! I was stunned: the story that was picked up by Quiddity was only out for two months. Pretty amazing. Kudos to Writer’s Relief for helping to make that possible.

Sincerely,

Lucian C.





August 10, 2010

Hi Ronnie,

I’ve been very happy with the services Writer’s Relief has provided. They’ve taken the time-consuming business of preparing and sending submissions off my shoulders and given me more time to do what I enjoy—write. My novel From Every Bitter Thing was submitted to about 25 agents and received offers of representation from three. The agent I chose to go with was an agent I would never have thought to send the manuscript to, if I had been doing my own submissions. I’ve also had a short story accepted by a literary journal, thanks to Writer’s Relief. Again, it was a reputable print journal, but not one that I had been aware of. I recommend Writer’s Relief to all serious writers.

Bob R.





July 29, 2010

Dear Ronnie,

Who else would keep track of my writing and me for the last decade plus? Without Writer’s Relief I’d still be licking envelopes, tilting at editors, and certainly publishing less in the literary marketplace. With the credits, momentum, and confidence you’ve nurtured in me, I’ve collected and published my first book of short stories. The second is on the way. Thanks, and let’s keep it going!

Gary M.





July 19, 2010

Dear Ronnie,

You and Writer’s Relief are the best thing that ever happened to me. Peace to everyone!

Linda S.





July 9, 2010

Hi Ronnie,

Writer’s Relief has made a tremendous contribution to my publication credits, for which I will always be grateful. I am so very pleased with the wonderful service you have provided me and have many fond memories of the cheerful and resourceful support I received from so many there at Writer’s Relief.

Best of luck to you and all the staff.

Ron T.





June 25, 2010

Dear Ronnie,

When I began, I was unfamiliar with the publishing world. I had no idea how to go about finding an agent. Thanks to your company, the employee’s professionalism, know-how and personal support I have found an agent for my book, Charlemagne, the Stolen History, an excellent agent at that. The contract is signed!

It has been a pleasure. I will let you know when I have signed a contract with a publisher.

Elisabeth dM.





June 22, 2010

I am convinced that Writer’s Relief is worth every penny. Thank you for working so hard to help me get my work out there.

Trenee S.





April 30, 2010

Dear Kriste,

A special thanks to you and the other fabulous folks at Writer's Relief who proofread my chapbook, Sex Education. You found several things that I and other readers and editors had not seen. I’ve entered all the edits on my copy of the chapbook. Please share this note of thanks with those who worked on the book. I love your proofing service.

Best,

David S.





April 22, 2010

Thanks so much for your help with my last two submissions. I had only published a little before I got my MFA, and two years have passed since then, with nothing to show for it. I knew I wasn’t submitting my stories enough, but I wasn’t sure what to do about it. What free time I had was spent writing. Then I heard from a friend about Writer’s Relief and put it on my Christmas list. Thanks to Santa, I was able to use the A La Carte Plus service with one story and A La Carte with the other. Within two months, both stories had been accepted! I appreciated the personalized attention, as well as the time saved. I’m grateful, too, for the perspective you brought to bear on the questions I had upon acceptance. The collective experience of your client base is, by definition, much greater than my own. Gaining access to that in the form of your good advice is a real help. Thanks again!

Thanks,

Karyn W.





April 16, 2010

Hi Ronnie,

I signed on as a full service client a few weeks ago in connection with my memoir, Pinstripes & Needles. I feel compelled to write and tell you about the extraordinary service your staff has provided. I have dealt with Meg, Wendy, Simone, Maria, Tawana, and Oby, and all have been models of professionalism and courtesy. Oby, in particular, has gone far beyond the call of duty in helping me craft a query letter, in formulating the best way to respond to an agent’s request for a complete manuscript when the query letter made it clear that the work is not complete yet, and in everything else she has done for me.

You are lucky to have such dedicated people working for you! If I ultimately obtain representation for my book, it will be in no small measure due to your awesome staff.

Just thought you should know.

Peter D.





April 5, 2010

Dear Ronnie,

Today I mailed 26 envelopes to various literary journals and completed two online submissions, as instructed. I will admit that I complained about the high cost of Writer’s Relief services to my boyfriend. I even had the nerve to say that I could have done everything myself. The truth is I couldn’t have done any of this (except write my story) without your help. I am a believer…a believer with more stories for Writer’s Relief to submit.

I appreciate the time and effort that your staff puts into this process, and I look forward to working with everyone again in the next cycle.

Best,

Trenee S.





March 31, 2010

Dear Ronnie,

I just received an email earlier tonight nominating one of my poems to be included in Best New Poets 2010! I am stunned! I clearly recognize that none of this would be happening without all the support I get from Writer’s Relief. Thanks for everything that you do.

All the best,

Christy F.





March 29, 2010

Dear Ronnie and all the WR Staff,

The longer I am a client of Writer’s Relief, the more I come to appreciate their friendliness, their expertise, and their downright rooting for me. Their service is timely and personalized, not hand-holding, but specific, researched professional advice about my particular submissions. Their online records of my groups of submissions, of who received them, and of the responses to them—including the occasional comments—are invaluable. Because they ferret out the best targets for my work at the best time, and because they provide a dependable, inexorable deadline, I can and do write. Kudos and thanks, Writer’s Relief!

Pat M.





March 18, 2010

Dear Ronnie,

As a busy professional, Writer’s Relief has freed me from much of the administrative burden that is required to get my work out there for publication. As a result, I have more time to do what I actually love…write. And the strict schedule of submissions pushes me to continue writing and submitting month after month. I consider Writer’s Relief to be a great value, and I hope to continue with them for many years to come.

Patrick O.





March 17, 2010

Ronnie and her associates promise results and achieve them; provide an amazing service using a process both efficient and motivational. I am a regular subscriber to her services.

Don P.





March 16, 2010

I’ve used Writer’s Relief for over two years. Never had a problem with service or efficiency. Had two stories published using Writer's Relief, plus the submission process was quite painless. I’d highly recommend Ronnie and the staff at Writer’s Relief for relief from much of the drudgery of the submission process.

Eric T.





March 16, 2010

I didn’t know anything about how, or where, to send poems until I learned about Writer’s Relief. The help Ronnie and her staff give has proven invaluable and has let me get many poems accepted by literary journals.

Alita P.





March 16, 2010

Ronnie Smith and her staff are unequaled—with kindness, ready advice, and gentle prodding, they’ve helped me achieve writing goals far beyond expectation. And along the way their newsletters and updates have proved invaluable. I can’t imagine where I’d be at with my writing without their assistance!

Dwight H.





March 16, 2010

Ronnie Smith has impressed me as a tireless advocate of writers of all categories, from unpublished to very successful. As a client for over three years, I know she manages an efficient, knowledgeable, and effective organization, Writer’s Relief, that helps writers find markets for their work. Her staff is always responsive, courteous, and helpful. Over my period as a client, they have guided me from an unpublished writer to a published author—the best testimony I could give to Ms. Smith's leadership.

George S.





March 16, 2010

Ronnie and her outfit do an excellent job helping me seek (and secure) publication of my literary work. I couldn't be more pleased with the consistent high-quality support her organization provides to help me fulfill my publishing objectives!

Jed M.





March 15, 2010

Dear Ronnie,

I’ve always written creatively, but it wasn’t until a friend suggested Writer’s Relief that my poems started to be published. At that time, I barely had enough time for writing because of work and family obligations—never mind sending my work out! But it wasn’t just about scarce time; I also didn’t have the experience or knowledge of the markets. Thanks to Writer’s Relief I got a dozen poems into print, felt validated about my work, and learned which journals were appropriate markets for me.

They lived up to their promise.

Linda S.





March 11, 2010

To Whom It May Concern:

Ronnie Smith and her superb team at Writer’s Relief have provided me with invaluable guidance for over 10 years. Their advice regarding presentation and their knowledge of the markets would have been almost impossible for me to acquire on my own. As a result I have found many outlets for my work.

Ormond F.





March 10, 2010

Dear Ronnie,

Love writing? Want to be published? Hate trying to figure out which outlets are right for your work? Writer’s Relief and their great staff will help with all the details. And their copy editors are professional and great to work with. Since signing on I’m averaging three published stories per year. My portfolio is growing. And I have lots of time to write.

Robert M.





March 9, 2010

Dear Ronnie,

Writer's Relief provdes an extremely valuable service to writers. Its organization and efficiency are remarkable. Even more remarkable, however, is the genuinely personal interest, helpfulness, and concern shown by the staff for the clients. This is truly top-quality, five-gold-star service.

Eileen H.





February 17, 2010

Ronnie had the vision to provide an exemplary service to writers who struggle with the process of getting their work published. With her helpful staff she leads you through creating a great cover letter, finding markets for your work, proofing the work, and then following the history of the submissions. I like that the schedule keeps me motivated to have work ready every two months. I also feel very supported by her wonderful staff. Yesterday I logged another poem accepted in a great journal which I think is around my 50th acceptance since joining Writer’s Relief.

Marilyn R.





February 10, 2010

Ronnie and her gang of proofers are fabulous! I can’t say enough good things about them. They are knowledgeable, hardworking, and personable.

Rosalia S.





February 6, 2010

In a little more than a year, Ronnie and her staff at Writer’s Relief have helped propel me from an unpublished poet to having my work accepted by 20 publications. She has a deep understanding of literary publishing, including an up-to-the-minute knowledge of editorial changes, submission standards, and the evolving nature of that world. Her firm is ahead of the curve on the changing dynamic between print and electronic publishing. They constantly research new and emerging markets and are quick to put their clients’ work into reputable publications. The team Ronnie has assembled at Writer’s Relief are unfailingly professional and responsive. In addition to proofreading and preparing submissions, they target their clients’ work to specific markets, making sure the submissions get to the right editor at the appropriate publication on time. Writer’s Relief allows me to devote my time to writing, instead of the tedious and time-consuming task of tracking submissions. Whether you are a new or established writer, Writer’s Relief is a wonderful resource at a reasonable price.

Pam D.





February 6, 2010

Ronnie is a very experienced and excellent editor and her knowledge of the writing and publishing field is a benefit to any writer.

John P.





February 6, 2010

Writer’s Relief helped me place my poetry in top literary magazines—for example, my work was in the same magazine with a poet who regularly appears in The New Yorker and with a poet who was guest editor of Best American Poetry. The company was efficient, creative, responsive, and fun to work with. I would unreservedly and highly recommend Writer’s Relief for any writer who wants to further their career.

Bill G.





February 6, 2010

Ronnie’s service offers exactly what the name of her company (Writer’s Relief) claims: relief for writers. All of the distracting details of getting those manuscripts in the hands of potential publishers and agents are handled with meticulous care and in a timely manner, allowing the writer more time for writing! Manuscripts are scrupulously prepared for mailing, address lists printed on label sheets, query letters presented ready for a signature. Her service makes the submission process almost automatic and removes the drudgery in a most professional manner. The Writer’s Relief Web site also provides advice and interesting articles for writers. Ronnie’s service provides the personal secretary/assistant every writer craves.

Joanne W.





February 6, 2010

Ronnie Smith’s Writer’s Relief is just that—an incredible relief for writers who say about publishing: I’d rather be writing OR I just can’t figure out where to begin. Crisp professional packages with the kind of cover letter you wish you could write, with letter-perfect samples of your work go out methodically, each month. How much is it worth to be DOING something correct about seeing your writing in print? I recommend Writer’s Relief to poets, especially who want to experience a lot of success.

Destiny K.





February 6, 2010

I have worked with Writer’s Relief in recent months and am deeply impressed by their rapid response, attention to detail, knowledge, and commitment. I’ve had three poems accepted since working with them. In no small measure, I believe, because of the very professional advice they were able to give me.

Freddy F.





February 6, 2010

Ronnie Smith from Writer’s Relief is very detail-oriented and has provided me with expert editing and proofreading for the writing market. She has always been professional and friendly in assisting in my writing endeavors. She and her team are invaluable in getting me published, and I hope to find national acclaim with her assistance.

Alphonso J.





February 6, 2010

Writer’s Relief has targeted literary agents and assisted greatly in polishing my query and synopsis. Ms. Smith’s organization is knowledgeable and dependable, and I will contact Writer’s Relief in the future whenever their particular expertise is needed. I recommend this organization highly to other writers.

Melinda S.





February 6, 2010

Ronnie is the best. She has been absolutely indispensable to me in my pursuit of writing success.

Stan B.





February 6, 2010

Ronnie knows the ropes of the publishing world and does a great job of directing her clients’ work to the right publisher. Her staff provides excellent proofreading and submission tracking.

Eli L.





February 6, 2010

For the last decade, at least, Ronnie has been my route to publication in literary magazines and journals. She and her staff have given me an organization and expertise to rely on, and I know I’ve gotten fair treatment and fair charges. But beyond services as paid for, I’ve had many personal phone conferences with Ronnie and her staff that have bolstered me psychologically with personal and well as professional endeavors. Writer’s Relief has enabled me to collect my work and to publish it responsibly. That’s what I paid for, but I feel it’s more than I could expect. Thanks, Ronnie.

Gary M.





February 6, 2010

Ronnie Smith has a deep and detailed knowledge of writing and editing. She gives expert information on how to get published. I am taking her advice on writing and will soon send my book to her to get polished for publication. I haven’t hired her, but soon I will be.

Shirley P.





February 6, 2010

Writer’s Relief has been a godsend to me. The service is expert, professional, empathetic, affordable and, most of all, effective. In a few years I have gone from being an unpublished novice to having over 50 poems published and a collection coming out. Writer’s Relief has been a life-changer.

Mark B.





February 1, 2010

Greetings:

To anyone considering joining Writer’s Relief, the numbers speak for themselves.

Two years ago I joined Writer’s Relief, and in that time I have had five stories published in credible, print literary journals, including The MacGuffin, Quiddity International Literary Journal, Williard & Maple, and Rio Grande Review.

And just recently, I have secured agent representation for my debut novel. In fact, I was able to have my pick between three agents who were all interested in my manuscript, and I ended up signing with the agency that had the most passionate vision for my novel.

Writer’s Relief lets you do the one thing you really want to do: write. They take care of the rest. They professionally proofread your work (a must-have for any serious writer). They research appropriate markets and agents that your work fits with. And they keep you motivated to never quit the marathon that is submitting, waiting, submitting, waiting…

If you take your writing seriously, then take your writing career seriously. Thank you very much to all the passionate, hard workers at Writer’s Relief. I can now call myself a professional writer, and for that I will forever be grateful.

Many thanks,

K.B.





January 29, 2010

Dear Ronnie,

Without Writer’s Relief the words I had been putting on pages for decades were stuck in closed personal journals or drawers. Now my efforts find their way onto editors’ desks.

Although I had been working religiously in classes or groups for what seemed like forever, left to my own devices, I always skipped the last step, sending the pieces out for publication. I needed a team to help me clear that daunting hurdle. Having projects find their way to publication is a dream come true. Thank you for taking me to the higher place on the writing road that I had always hoped to reach, but couldn’t quite get to by myself.

Your grateful client,

Cathy